Which chess piece are you?

Which chess piece are you?

Chess is also known as Buddhi Bal which is a game that requires attention, concentration and planning. If you look at chess as a war on a game board, your whole outlook on the game changes. You start looking at the pieces as soldiers that have waged war on each other and would do literally anything to save their king.

There are 6 different types of soldiers in chess namely –

1.       King

2.       Queen

3.       Rook

4.       Bishop

5.       Knight

6.       Pawn

These different soldiers all have different roles to play, different strategies to build and ways to kill. In this article, we’re going to talk at length about these chess pieces, their character traits and then you can decide which chess piece you resonate and associate with the most!

1.   King – The entire war game is played to kill the opponent’s king. The king surprisingly is one of the most useless pieces of the puzzle. The king can only move one space and if left unprotected can get killed very easily. Here are some important character traits of the king –

·         The controller – The king is lazy because he doesn’t have to do much. He has an entire army that’s prepared to live and die for him. All he has to do is stay safe and control the game because if he moves, his entire defence strategy moves in order to protect him.

·         Wise – If we assume that chess is war and the king is the ruler then invariably he is moving and dominating the entire game. A king chooses to move the pieces he thinks are right and gives the opponent a chance to save or kill someone based on what’s in front of him.

2.   Queen – A queen has the most amount of points on the chessboard. Worth 9 points the queen is brutal and will do anything to protect its king. These are some of the most common or wildly recognized characteristics of a queen –

·         Brutal – The queen is brutal. She knows exactly what she wants and will do everything to achieve it. The queen can’t jump over other players but can imitate all the moves of chess players except for that of the horse.

·         Confidence – A queen is confident in her moves. She knows that she’s the most powerful piece of the puzzle and doesn’t get intimidated by anyone. A queen works hard, she likes sneaking up on her opponents and she’s confident and smart enough to not get killed by other players.

·         Embraces change – A queen will welcome a change even if it means that she has to change her whole game strategy to do so. If the opponent plays an unpredicted move then the queen will move accordingly and change her course of action.

3.   Rook – A rook is the second most powerful piece on the game board. Worth 5 points, the rook comes second to the Queen. The rook moves either horizontally or vertically and doesn’t jump over any players like the knight. A rook is also known as an elephant and has some well-known character traits such as –

·         Formidable – Rook is a piece that can be intimidating to many. If your rook is in direct contact with any chess piece then it has the power to kill because it can move any number of spaces. A rook is feared, respected and a formidable opponent.

·         Attentive – An elephant is extremely varied in its surroundings. He’s an intelligent creature who is shy and a keen observer. Elephants are attentive and this trait reflects onto their game as well.

·         Social – Elephants are social creatures. They’re referred to as social creatures who are mischievous and playful. The rook too is mischievous on the game board. Play it well and you can easily give a check to your opponent.

4.       Knight – The knight is a tricky soldier. It’s the only piece on the chessboard that can jump over another and move three spaces in one go. The knight moves in the shape of an L. The knight is also known as a horse and here are some of its well-known characteristics –

·         Fearful – The knight is to be feared on the chessboard. If you ignore him, he might have the power to kill even the toughest of your players on the board!

·         Social – Knights are social players. While they have the strength to play and win on their own they prefer to work in pairs and in a tendency to provide support to the other players.

·         Aloof – Although social, knights can also be associated with as being aloof or distant. The way a knight behaves will be decided by how the player performs and places the knight on the board.

5.   Bishop – Bishops are worth 3 points on the chessboard and can only move diagonally. A bishop is confined to moving only in the white/black space assigned to him. Also recognized as the camel, here are a few of its most recognizable personality traits.

·         Intelligent – A camel is known to be sneaky when you least expect it! Just like in the game, the bishop or camel can easily kill you if left ignored. Camels have the tendency to hold on to a grudge similar to the bishop on a chessboard. A bishop can change strategies and find multiple ways of killing an opponent that’s in its way.

·         Straight forward – A camel is known for its straightforward nature. Camels will be soft on their players and brutal to their enemies. A camel can stay focused on a particular task until it gets finished.

·         Confidence – Camels exude confidence. Even though bishops are on the same point scale as a horse or knight both of them have different ways to kill and different strategies they can utilize to disarm their opponents.

6.   Pawn – Considered to be the weakest of the soldiers, a pawns strength lies in its numbers. When the game begins 8 pawns are the first line of defence. When they begin they have the option of moving either two spaces straight or making one straight move and only has 1 point. When the pawn kills, the pawn must do so diagonally. Some personality traits of a pawn are –

·         Rebellious – Pawns are rebellious. While their strength lies in their numbers a pawn can sneak up on you! They can kill anyone as long as they’re diagonal to them. A pawn is recognized as a rebel because as it reaches the end of the board towards its opponent’s side, they have the power to bring back any chess piece that was killed making it rebellious.

·         Hard-working – Pawns can only move forward one piece after their first move, they can’t go backwards and can easily get stuck. However, they’re the most hardworking. A pawn will find ways to move forward or will fight with all its strength to block its opponent.

·         Brave – A pawn knows that it’s the least important piece of the war and will be collateral damage and killed the most yet without fear, it charges ahead towards the opponent and manages to kill, block or bring back a dead soldier.

In Conclusion –

Chess is a complicated game, one that can be played in many different ways. It’s often said that who you are is displayed on the board. Based on these personality traits which piece do you think suits your personality?